Common Chaos Chronicle

Not everyone can lay claim to the ownership of their very own MONSTER SQUAD!!!

Monster Squad Meal Planning! March 27, 2011

Filed under: Menu Plans — commonchaoschronicle @ 8:37 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hungry Jai

Weekly menu planning has not only saved me a fortune at the supermarket, it has solved the common issue of wandering aimlessly up and down the aisles with not a clue of what to serve up for dinner.

 

I have also found that planning the meals in advanced has allowed me to be more organised and prepare much healthier, filling meals.

 

I sit down of a Wednesday evening once the kiddies have gone to bed and I plan my following weeks menu. My menu plan starts on a Thursday each week as this is the day I do my shopping.

 

When planning the menu I have to take into consideration after school activities and other family commitments and schedule in meals that have appropriate preparation and cooking times.

 

I hadn’t considered posting my menu plan before now but I must thank Katrina from The Organised Housewife for her inspiration 🙂

 

 

Here is this weeks plan.

The beginning of our Lasagna

THURSDAY

Lunch: Sandwiches

Dinner: Honey Mustard Chicken on White Rice

FRIDAY

Lunch: Tin Spag Jaffles (Toasted Sandwiches)

Dinner: Lasagna & Wedges

SATURDAY

Lunch: Hot Dogs

Dinner: Honey & Sweet Soy Stir-fry Chicken with Hokkien Noodles

SUNDAY

Lunch: Steamed Dim Sims

Dinner: Beef Casserole (Slow Cooker). Mashed potato & Mixed Vegetables

MONDAY

Lunch: 2 Min Noodles

Dinner: Ravioli & Garlic Bread

TUESDAY

Lunch: Sandwich

Dinner: Pizza – Movie Night

WEDNESDAY

Lunch: Leftover Pizza / Sandwich

Dinner: Chicken Schnitzel & Creamy Scalloped potato

I must confess to not being much of a Baker, however I do occasionally have a go. This week I saved a massive amount of time preparing the kids lunchbox snacks when my mum offered to do the baking. 🙂

She prepared

* A chocolate cake

* A double batch or pikelets

* A batch of Blueberry Mini Muffins

* A batch of Banana Mini Muffins

I individually wrapped these items and popped them into the freezer. Each day when I prepare the lunch boxes I will just pull out what I need from the freezer and it will be defrosted well before they eat it. Saves time and money on lunch box snacks. These snacks should last 2-3 weeks 🙂

So that’s it for this weeks plan.

 

Thanks again to THE ORGANISED HOUSEWIFE for her inspiration!

The Organised Housewife
 

3 Responses to “Monster Squad Meal Planning!”

  1. I love doing a big bake up. So much easier to feed people. really should start to plan our lunches too, hopefully get a bit of variety that way

  2. It really is fantastic and makes our lives alot easier when it comes to lunchboxes etc.
    I like to plan our lunches for the days i know we’ll definately be home. Sometimes it’s just very basic as it will just be me and a toddler eating, but it saves alot of time in the long run!
    Have you found us on Facebook yet? If you’re interested heres the link:
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Common-Chaos-Chronicle/167928966591552
    Feel free to copy and paste the link and share it with your friends too 🙂
    Thanks xo

  3. […] Weekly menu planning has not only saved me a fortune at the supermarket, it has solved the common issue of wandering aimlessly up and down the aisles with not a clue of what to serve up for dinner.   I have also found that planning the meals in advanced has allowed me to be more organised and prepare much healthier, filling meals.   I sit down of … Read More […]


Leave a Reply

