Common Chaos Chronicle

Not everyone can lay claim to the ownership of their very own MONSTER SQUAD!!!

How do I store my………… LEGO??? March 25, 2011

Filed under: Getting Organised... — commonchaoschronicle @ 9:31 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Our bubble car!

Today I am going to share with you my Lego storage system. If you have read my introduction to Jai post you would be well aware that this child is obsessed with Lego. You name it, he want’s to build it and he want’s my help.

A crazy police truck creation!

My frustration with the Lego came about when we had it stored in a large storage tub. Everything was jumbled up and mixed in together, making even the simplest build project difficult and time consuming.

To top it off, often the only way to find the piece you were looking for is to upturn the entire tub spreading lego from one end of the room to the other.

I do love the old spread a bed sheet out on the floor and go for your life method but it is far from suitable in this house.

With a baby on the loose I had to come up with something that made playing with Lego safe, but also allowed me to be involved in a much

The Stopper Cabinet Storage System!

faster fashion. Long gone were the hours of just sitting down and fiddling with the blocks. I had some serious time constraints to consider!

I went to a shop called STORE, where I came across these totally fabulous storage systems. Wait…. it gets better….. They were reduced to half price!!! LOVE A BARGAIN!

Anyway, These systems were located in the Automotive / Garage area of the shop. I am assuming that they are designed to be filled with nails, screws and that type of thing but they certainly do the Lego trick!

It even has top trays for tiny bits and pieces!

So I sat down one evening and started sorting. I knew if   things were colour coordinated

and if similar things were placed together it would save me hours of time when building with Jai.

Jai's Lego all sorted into the drawer compartments!

The best thing about this system is that the drawers have a stopper pull bit on them that stops the drawers from sliding open when you’re carrying them around. Great thinking if you ask me!!!

 

Similar systems can be found in shops like Supercheap Auto and some Hardware chain stores.

Jai LOVES it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

If the Lego in your house gives you a hard time (nothing quite like stomping on a sharp block in during a pitch black midnight dash to the toilet :-0 ), give this storage and sorting method a try!

And now….. Im off to build!!!


 

2 Responses to “How do I store my………… LEGO???”

  1. Stuart Shipway Says:

    I loved my lego as a kid and “i think” I’ve still got my tub at mums, Jai is free to have it. if thats ok with you 🙂

    • That’s a very generous offer Stuart! Thanks heaps. I’ll ask your mum next time we’re down there visiting if it’s still around. She might want to keep it there for the kiddies to play with whilst we’re down there though. 🙂 Ahhh I still love Lego now!!! hahaha 🙂


Leave a Reply

