Common Chaos Chronicle

Not everyone can lay claim to the ownership of their very own MONSTER SQUAD!!!

The Horrors of Housework…. March 24, 2011

Any parent reading this will understand what I am about to say.

And the kids thought I was joking..... The Skip Bin We Hired For The Clean Up!

Housework is horrible. Even if you’re not a parent it’s still horrible…..

The sad part is, it is very much a part of everyday life. For me, a rather large part of my everyday life.  Without a somewhat clean and organised environment our house turns into chaos almost instantly.

I would be a liar if I suggested that there were any kind of end to the situation. It really does NEVER end but I am beginning to see the light at the end of that daunting dark tunnel.

A while ago I devised a plan in my mind. It sat there for a few days being edited and revised by my brain and this is the theory I came up with.

Our house was a mess. We needed a massive, all over total clean out. So that’s exactly what we did.

If it was broken it went in the bin.

If it was unused it went to the Op-Shops.

If it could be sold on eBay I listed it.

We even hired a big skip bin, and one room at a time we declutted, removed the junk and cleaned anything that needed a clean.

At last the house was a junk free, tidy and organised place to be!

However…….

It wasn’t going to keep itself this way for long and I was certainly sick and tired of spending every waking moment of my day cleaning, so I made up a chart for myself.

I figured, if the house was totally clean to start with, and I maintained the daily jobs plus one room/area of the house per day, with the help of my family and in conjunction with the kid’s weekly chores, we should be able to keep it relatively tidy…

The thought of cleaning an entire house from scratch each day frightens the life out of me but breaking it down into daily chores is certainly much more achievable….So here goes…


Monday: Make the Beds, 2 Loads of Washing, The Dishes, Clean & Tidy the Dining/Kitchen Area.

Tuesday: Make the Beds, 2 Loads of Washing, The Dishes, Clean the Hallway & Zaf & Veruca’s Room.

Wednesday: Make the Beds, 2 Loads of Washing, The Dishes, Clean the Bathroom/Toilet & Laundry Areas.

Thursday: Make the Beds, 2 Loads of Washing, The Dishes, Clean Our Bedroom and Jai & Levi’s Bedroom.

Friday: Make the Beds, 2 Loads of Washing, The Dishes, Clean the Lounge Room & Aria’s Bedroom.

Saturday: Make the Beds, 2 Loads of Washing, The Dishes, Complete any unfinished cleaning around the yard.

Sunday: Make the Beds, 2 Loads of Washing, The Dishes, Quick family up around the whole house.

My Totally Tidy Bedroom!

So for the past few weeks I have been trialing this method and it seems to be working. The house is tidy and I am not spending all day achieving it.

A tidy environment to live in + more time to spend doing things I actually enjoy!

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

