Common Chaos Chronicle

Not everyone can lay claim to the ownership of their very own MONSTER SQUAD!!!

So.. We’re having Twins….. March 20, 2011

So here we were, 20 weeks into a pregnancy, totally unaware of the fact we were about to gain an instant family. After we left the

The day before I had the Twins. 37.4 weeks....

ultrasound and shared the news of our twins with family, we really had to take a moment to make sense of what had just happened. It definitely took a few weeks for everything to seem real.

 

And real it was. We had appointments here, there and everywhere. And the appointments were a lot more frequent than the usual ones. We also got told that I wouldn’t be allowed to give birth to my twins in our own town. Our hospital just wasn’t equipped for it so we would have to travel 100kms to have them. Very frightening stuff for a first time mummy.

At 28 weeks we had to have another scan done to check that the babies were growing properly. It was at this scan that we found out that Twin A was a boy and Twin B was a girl. We couldn’t have been happier. Another bonus in having to have all these scans done was that the sonographers were able to give us an approximate size for each baby. We knew at this stage that they weren’t going to be

Twin belly 30 weeks in...

tiny bubs 🙂

 

I started to grow…. and by grow I mean huge. It felt like I tripled in size overnight. I was in agony by 30 weeks and had pain just about everywhere. The weight of my tummy seemed huge and I was totally unbalanced. It didn’t just look like I swallowed a basketball, It looked more like I’d eaten a giant fitball. And these babies were thriving….

2 of everything..... 🙂

 

I felt useless. I could hardly bend. It hurt to walk. My family banned me from doing anything interesting and took over decorating the nursery for me. I was getting desperate. By week 32 I started begging my obstertritian to get these babies out!!! (Rest assured he did just laugh at me and told me to dream on). It was like this pregnancy was never going to end.

Since I could basically do next to nothing due to the pain I was in, I developed my keen interest in scrap booking and crafts etc and the days that werent spent 100kms from home in a doctor’s office were spent creating….. creating a pregnancy journal, a giant nappy bag, covers for the bassinettes and so on…

 

The giant nappy bag I made.

When I ask my hubby what he remembers from this time he says…. Hip rubs, Physio, Whinging, More hip rubs, Appointments, Spending money, More whinging…. Well I guess I may have been a little difficult to deal with 🙂 Mind you, I think it’s fair to mention that my tummy was so huge by this stage that I could rest my back on the inside of a standard doorway and my tummy would be touching the other side of it.

 

At around 34 weeks we held a baby shower. It was fantastic. It allowed me to get excited about having these bubs. The games were fun, the pressies were much appreciated and it gave me the opportunity to catch up with a lot of people.

After the baby shower I decided that I was ready to give birth. Only problem was, the twins definitely were NOT!!! They would do full turns inside me and the pain would reduce me to tears yet they werent even close to coming out. My appointments were weekly by now and I would beg that poor doctor to cut them out. Every week he would tell me the same thing…. just one more week….. I wasn’t sure I could cope with “just one more week” and I said to the man, “If you don’t get these kids out I will do something stupid”. He still didn’t take me seriously.

So I got on the raspberry leaf tea. Nothing. Drove up and down the bumpiest dirt road we could find. Nothing. I walked as far as I possibly could. Nothing but more pain. Arghhhh these babies werent budging!!! At my 37 week check up, he finally relented and said he would induce me if they hadn’t arrived by next week. I was to report to the hospital at 6am the following Monday if he hadn’t seen me first. 🙂

Finally and end was near. Sunday night came and still no babies so we prepared for the very early morning drive to the hospital. I was scared out of my mind. I had no idea what to expect or what I was in for, all I was sure of was that I wanted them out!

Instant armful....

 

They hooked me up to a heap of different monitors and set up the epidural drip incase a cesarean was required. They broke my waters and started to induce me mid morning and I was 4cm’s dilated when everything just seemed to stop. Nothing seemed to progress all day and they grew concerned for the twins so they decided a c-section would be the best solution.

Late that night I became a mum.

Jai Phoenix – 5lb 15oz – Boy

Aria Monique – 7lb 3/4oz – Girl

Ahhhh, the twin pregnancy was over and the next chapter had begun….

 

 

Leave a Reply

