Common Chaos Chronicle

Not everyone can lay claim to the ownership of their very own MONSTER SQUAD!!!

DIY – Love it!!!! March 3, 2011

Filed under: DIY & Renovating on a BUDGET! — commonchaoschronicle @ 10:47 am
Tags: , , , , ,
floorboards

Staining the new floorboards....

One thing I truely do love doing is home decorating, the old ‘Do-it-yourself’ revamp. It doesnt seem to bother me what i am revamping, wether it be a wall, a cupboard or the dining room chairs, I enjoy them all the same.

My most recent DIY projects have included a set of drawers for in Aria’s bedroom, and what I call my “Organisation Station” in the dining room. Both pieces of furniture were purchased rather cheaply from our local Op-Shop / Charity shop and after a light sand down and a few quick coats of paint, both items have come up a treat, co-ordinate with the rooms they are in and cost me next to nothing. 🙂

I think the hardest thing for me, is to decide what task I will do, and actually

A set of drawers I painted to match the purple feature wall.

finish doing it. Smaller projects are fantastic because I can see instant results. Projects that take place over several days often get left half done as the time constraints of my large family take over.

Whenever I am starting a new project, these are a few of the things that I must first consider:

 

* How much free time do I have to complete the task?

* Is it something I can do whilst the children are around?

* Do I have the required equipment, tools & supplies to complete the task available?

* Will I have to purchase anything and is it within this weeks budget?

* Do I need a helper to lift heavy or awkward items?

So today I am considering what my next DIY project might be.

I have some fabric put aside to cover some foam chairs in Aria’s room, I have great plans involving painting a massive wall unit, but I think more importantly I should probably focus on finishing a long list of half done projects….

Hmmm perhaps I should finish painting the shed….

Bathroom

A quick splash of paint in the bathroom gave it a fresh look until we can afford major renovations!

 

2 Responses to “DIY – Love it!!!!”

  1. Jess Says:

    It looks fantastic! That purple is great! Looking forward to reading more :))

  2. Thanks Jess, I wish I had before photos of every project I have completed. Then we’d really see the difference. I love the purple too. The hubby isn’t so keen, but since I do the painting around the house, I get to choose the colours!!! Sounds fair to me!!! 🙂
    Keep up to date with my posts on facebook too. Heres the link:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Common-Chaos-Chronicle/167928966591552
    Thanks xo


Leave a Reply

